Skip navigation

Celebrating the class of 2018

May 23, 2018

The Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) held its 74th commencement ceremony on May 23. The school conferred degrees to more than 500 students in the Master of Arts (MA), Master of Arts in International Economics and Finance (MIEF), Master of Arts in Global Policy (GPP), Master of International Public Policy (MIPP), and Doctorate programs.

Hailing from 48 different countries, Dean Vali Nasr said the Class of 2018 represented a "rich diversity of ambitions and goals." In his address, he reminded graduates of the importance of their future roles and said that despite partisan gridlock, unrest in international order, and daunting news headlines, "people who can understand and translate complexities of a changing world – and can lead effectively with that knowledge in hand—are needed now more than ever before."

The keynote address was delivered by Michèle Flournoy, former Under Secretary of Defense for Policy and Co-Founder and Managing Partner at WestExec Advisors. Flournory offered the graduates insight on how they should navigate their journey into public service by sharing 10 lessons she learned throughout her career, moving between government service, the think tank world and the private sector. She stressed the importance of being "an inclusive, empowering leader" saying that "when it comes to safeguarding national security in our democracy, we need a national security cadre that looks like America – one that is diverse in gender, ethnic and socio-economic backgrounds, and in experience and perspective." Flournoy concluded by urging the graduates "to step up; don’t opt out and "find a mission that matters and move forward with a life of service."

Quinn Campbell received the William C. Foster Award for distinguished service to the school. The Christian A. Herter Award for outstanding academic achievement was presented to Elias Dammann, Brendan McCartney, Lauren Sidner, Emily Weiss, Rachel Xian, and Hao Zhang.

Jeffrey and Shari Aronson received the Founders Award for extraordinary support of the school. Jeffrey Aronson JHU '80 chairs the university's Board of Trustees. Shari Aronson is a member of the Social Policy Advisory Board at the university's Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. 

A commencement celebration was held at SAIS Europe on May 19 and featured a keynote address by Annabelle Ewing (SAIS Europe ’82)
Minister for Community Safety and Legal Affairs, The Scottish Government. John L. Harper, the Kenneth H. Keller Professor and Professor of American Foreign Policy was awarded the Johns Hopkins Alumni Association Excellence in Teaching Award.

The Hopkins-Nanjing Center commencement ceremony will be held on June 15. 

Photo Album
Social Media #SAISGrad18