COVID-19 Update

Johns Hopkins SAIS is actively monitoring the global COVID-19 outbreak, focusing on the health and well-being of the university community. CLICK HERE for additional information, including spring semester reopening plans.

Skip navigation

Professor Jonas Nahm Among 2020 Catalyst Award Recipients

JHU Catalyst Award logo

Jonas Nahm, Assistant Professor of Energy, Resources and Environment, is among 36 talented early-career faculty members representing all nine academic divisions of Johns Hopkins University who were named 2020 Johns Hopkins Catalyst Awards recipients.

The Catalyst Award is accompanied by a $75,000 grant for research, mentoring opportunities, and institutional recognition. Nahm will utilize the award grant to examine how clean energy industrial sectors in two countries with export-led economies, China and Germany, became part of critical political coalitions in support of decarbonization, and why green growth coalitions in the United Kingdom and United States’ consumption-led economies are less influential politically. 

Nahm said he is pleased and grateful that the grant will enable him to conduct two years of field research for this research project, adding “the main goal of the project is to better understand how countries have been able to mobilize broad political coalitions in support of climate policy.”

Nahm joins six other Johns Hopkins SAIS faculty members who have been named Catalyst Award recipients since the award was established in 2015: Ling Chen, Assistant Professor of Political Economy; Daniel Honig, Assistant Professor of International Development; Sarah Jordaan, Assistant Professor of Energy, Resources and Environment; Matthias Matthijs, Associate Professor of International Political Economy; Sarah Parkinson, Aronson Assistant Professor of Political Science and International Studies; and David Steinberg, Associate Professor of International Political Economy.