Skip navigation

2023 Commencement Awards

Speaker standing on stage

Students, faculty, and staff were recognized for their outstanding achievements during the commencement ceremony.

Professor Emerita in International Political Economy, Deborah Brautigam, was recognized as the 2023 recipient of the SAIS Founders Award. The award is given to individuals who provide extraordinary service to SAIS and who make significant contributions to SAIS’tradition of excellence.   
Setu Van Lare-Hodges, Assistant Director of Career Management and Employer Engagement, was recognized as the 2023 Dean's Award for Exemplary Service recipient in recognition of her tremendous efforts and dedication to SAIS since 2010. 
The Dean’s Special Achievement Award recognized the staff in the Department of Information Technology, Campus Operations, and Mason Library who made exceptional contributions to Johns Hopkins SAIS. Awardees will be recognized at a ceremony in June.
Christian A. Herter Award honoree Yang Long Tan was recognized for his distinguished academic performance as it is given to a student with the highest GPA for the first three semesters. He was also the William C. Foster Award recipient for sound scholarship, record leadership, and distinguished service to SAIS.
In recognition of valuable contributions in teaching for the 2022-23 academic year, students selected the following faculty members to receive Excellence in Teaching honors:
International Economics
Gordon Bodnar, Morris W. Offit Professor of International Finance

Language Studies
Hadia Anaye, French Lecturer

Functional/Policy Studies
Jaime Marquez, Senior Lecturer

Regional Studies
Vali Nasr, Majid Khadduri Professor of Middle East and International Affairs

Outstanding Adjunct Lecturer