Skip navigation

Mark Gilbert

Professor of History and International Studies


Gilbert was educated (B.A. hons Politics, 1983) at Durham University and was awarded a PhD in contemporary history by the University of Wales (1990). Before joining SAIS, he was associate professor in contemporary history and international studies at the University of Trento and lecturer in European studies at the University of Bath. He began his academic career as assistant professor of political science at Dickinson College. Gilbert is a fellow of the Royal Historical Society. He has been Associate Editor of the Journal of Modern Italian Studies since 2015. He served as Chair of the 2018 Cundill Prize.

Bell, P. M., & Gilbert, M. (2016). The world since 1945: An international history. London ; Oxford ; New York ; New Delhi ; Sydney: Bloomsbury.

Gilbert, M. (2014). Cold war Europe: The politics of a contested continent. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield.

Gilbert, M. (2011). European integration: A concise history. Lanham, Md: Rowman & Littlefield.

Gilbert, M., & Nilsson, K. R. (2007). Historical dictionary of modern Italy. Lanham (Md.): Scarecrow Press.

Gilbert, M. (2003). Surpassing Realism: The Politics of European Integration since 1945. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield.

Bull, A. C., & Gilbert, M. F. (2001). Lega Nord and the northern question in Italian politics. Basingstoke, Hampshire,: Palgrave.

Gilbert, M. (1995). The Italian revolution: The end of politics, Italian style?Boulder: Westview Press.

His work on current affairs has appeared in The National Interest, Survival, World Policy Journal, and on




  • Europe
  • Great Britain
  • Italy
  • Western Europe


  • Diplomacy
  • European Union and Transatlantic Relations
  • History
  • Politics


  • French
  • Italian

In the News

As doubts persist about Italy’s new government, Salvini plots his comeback.

Mark Gilbert interviewed on World Politics Review podcast, 9/6

Internal divisions sank Italy’s last government. Will its new one fare any better?

Mark Gilbert interviewed on World Politics Review’s Trend Lines, 9/4

Up Close and Personal with the World’s Top Works of History

Johns Hopkins SAIS Professor of History and International Studies Mark Gilbert was selected as the 2018 Chair of Jury for the prestigious Cundill History Prize, recognizing each year the best history writing in English.