Skip navigation

Academic Calendar | SAIS Europe

Academic Calendar 2020-2021 

Mon. Aug. 17 
– Sat. Sep. 12
Preterm for MAIR, MAIA, MIPP, Diploma
  • Intermediate Microeconomics, Statistics, Intensive English, Intensive Italian, Survival Italian and Math Review (see also detailed pre-term schedule)

Summer Program for MAGR

  • Fundamentals of Microeconomics and Int’l Trade Theory, Statistics, Math Review

Summer Program for MEPP

  • International Economics and Professional Skills courses
Mon. Aug. 17 MAGR and MEPP students: deadline to pay 1st tuition installment
All other students: deadline to pay balance of pre-term fees
Fri. Aug. 28 Deadline to Register for Economics Waiver Exams scheduled on Sept. 11 - 13
Tue. Sep. 1 Registration for non-language classes available in SIS
  • US students with federal loans should register to prove student status

Academic Advising begins

Pre-calculus test: deadline for completion for students not attending pre-term (Blackboard/Community)

Mon. Sep. 7 Registration for language classes available on the BCWeb (SAIS Europe Insider Portal)
Tue. Sep. 8 Language placement tests become available on Blackboard (link will be provided)
Fri. Sep. 11
– Sat. Sep. 12           
End of Pre-Term courses 


Wed. Sep. 16 – Fri. Sept. 18 ORIENTATIONALL STUDENTS MUST BE PRESENT AT SCHOOL
  • Orientation includes information sessions and advising. A detailed schedule will be provided in due course
Wed. Sept. 16 SAIS English Proficiency Exam from 9.30 am to 1 pm
  • ALL non-native English speakers are required to take this exam at this time; bi-lingual students may request an exemption (form available on the BCWeb)
Fri. Sep. 18 Deadline for:
  • non-language course registration (in SIS)
  • language course registration (on the BCWeb)
  • payment of 1st semester tuition fee in Business Office (except MAGR)


Mon. Sep. 21 First day of class for 1st semester – non-language
  • non-language drop/add available online on SIS

Deadline to complete online portion of language placement test (on Blackboard)

Tue. Sep. 22 Language placement tests: last chance to take speaking portion of the test from 10:30 a.m.
MAIR Core and EES Comprehensive exams from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. or 3:00 p.m.
Wed. Sep. 23 Language proficiency exams (reading and writing)
Thur. Sep. 24 Language proficiency exams (listening and speaking)
Mon. Sep. 28 Language classes begin
Mon. Oct. 5
at 9 a.m.   
Deadline to change course registration (language and non-language courses)
  • Non-language course drop/add on SIS; language course drop/add on BCWeb
Sat. Oct. 10  
– TBC
Career Day 
Fri. Nov. 20 Deadline to Register for Economics Waiver Exams on Dec. 4 - 6 (on Blackboard)
Monday, Dec. 7 Deadline for preliminary non-language course registration for the spring in SIS
Tue. Dec. 15 -
Thur. Dec. 17
Final exams for language courses
Fri. Dec. 18 Last day of fall classes
Sat. Dec. 19
– Sun. Jan. 3
Winter Break (two weeks)
Mon. Jan. 4
– Fri. Jan. 15
Final exams for the fall semester 
Mon. Jan. 4 Language course registration for the spring semester available on BC Web
Language placement tests available on Blackboard
Thur. Jan. 7 English proficiency exam (reading and writing)
Tue. Jan. 12 Deadline to Register for Economic Waiver Exams on Jan. 26 – 28 (on Blackboard) 
Thur. Jan. 14 Deadline for language course registration (on the BCWeb)
Fri. Jan. 15 Deadline to complete the online portion of the language placement tests (on Blackboard)
Sat. Jan. 16
– Sun. Jan. 31
Semester Recess 
Fri. Jan. 22 Grades for the fall semester due
Sat. Jan. 30
– TBC
Vienna Ball – tentative


Mon. Feb. 1 First day of non-language classes for 2nd semester (including MAGR)
  • non-language course drop/add available online in SIS 
  • language course drop/add on the BC Web 
Tue. Feb. 2  Last chance to take the speaking portion of the language placement tests
Wed. Feb. 3  Language proficiency exams (reading and writing) from 10.30 am
Fri. Feb. 5 Language proficiency exams (listening and speaking) from 10.30 am
Deadline for payment of 2nd semester tuition; 2nd payment of MAGR in Business Office
Tue. Feb. 9 Language classes begin
Mon. Feb. 15      Deadline to change course registration 
Thur. Apr. 1
– Wed. Apr. 7
Spring break
Apr. 27 - 30 Last week of language classes
Tue. May 4
– Wed. May 5
Final exams for language classes
Fri. May 7 Language Proficiency exams
Mon. May 3
– Sat. May 8
Last week of non-language classes
Tue. May 4
– Wed. May 5
Language proficiency exams (reading and writing; listening and speaking) 
Mon. May 10
– Fri. May 21
Final exams for the spring semester
Sat. May 22 SAIS Europe graduation and closing ceremony 
Wed. May 26 Jonhns Hopkins SAIS DC graduation
Thur. May 27  Johns Hopkins University graduation
Fri. May 28 Spring grades due; end of the Spring term; deadline to request Leave of Absence for Fall 2021


Mon. May 24
– Fri. Aug. 13
MAGR summer project
Fri. Aug. 27 Conferral date for MAGR & MEPP degrees