COVID-19, and REOPENING UPDATES: Click Here for Additional Information and Resources.

Skip navigation

Academic Calendar | Washington DC

Academic Calendar 2021-2022

The academic calendar is subject to change without notice.

Full Academic Calendar
DatesCalendar items

Tuesday, June 1-Sunday, July 25, 2021

Summer Programs in Washington, DC

Monday, July 5, 2021

Independence Day Observed—SAIS is closed

Monday, July 5-Tuesday, August 24

Pre-Term Program

Monday July 12-Friday, August 20, 2021

MIEF Summer term for the 2021-2022 cohort

Monday, August 23-Friday, August 27, 2021

MASIS Pre-Term/Boot Camp

Friday, August 27, 2021

Conferral date for summer degree completion

Saturday, August 28, 2021

Fall 2021 semester begins

Monday, September 6, 2021

Labor Day—SAIS is closed

Sunday, November 21-Sunday, November 28,

2021

Fall Break/Thanksgiving Week

Monday, December 6, 2021

Fall 2021 classes end

Friday, December 31, 2021

Conferral date for fall degree completion

Monday, January 10-Friday, January 21, 2022

MIEF and MASIS intersessions

Saturday, January 22, 2022

Spring 2022 semester begins

Saturday, April 30, 2022

Spring 2022 classes end

Wednesday, May 25, 2022

SAIS graduation ceremony

Thursday, May 26, 2022

JHU graduation ceremony in Baltimore and

conferral date for spring degree completion

Monday, May 30-Monday, June 27, 2022

MIEF summer term for students in 2021-2022 cohort

Tuesday, May 31-Sunday, July 24, 2022

Summer Programs in Washington, DC

Monday, July 4, 2022

Independence Day—SAIS is closed

Monday, July 11-Friday, August 19, 2022

MIEF Summer term for 2022-2023 cohort

Friday, August 26, 2022

Conferral date for summer degree completion